From US · Laser eye surgery · Mexico
Laser eye surgery in Mexico from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Americans, laser eye surgery in Mexico costs $2,100–$3,000 at the clinics we checked, or about $2,730 once an example return flight and 3 hotel nights are added. That is about $2,260 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($4,990).
- Clinic price
- $2,100–$3,0002 providers, both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
- Example trip
- $2,730clinic $2,100 + flight $300 + 3 hotel nights $330
- Pay privately in US
- $4,990–$5,790
- Wait in US
- No national waiting list
- Time there
- 3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
- Rank from US
- 3 of 5 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD
Trip total $2,730$2,260 under home
Figure 2Laser eye surgery: cheapest trip from the US, by country
Published laser eye surgery prices in Mexico
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retina Center TijuanaTijuana | $2,100 to $3,000about £1,570–£2,240 · €1,880–€2,680 · C$2,940–C$4,200 | LASIK and refractive surgery, both eyes ($2,100); SMILE laser surgery, both eyes ($3,000)Not stated. The page says coordinators give “a personalized estimate before your appointment”. | Retina Center Tijuanaread 26 October 2026 |
| Vision Mendez InstituteTijuana | $2,790about £2,090 · €2,490 · C$3,900 | LASIK, PRK or Relex SMILE, $1,395 per eye (our ×2 for both eyes)Not stated. “Every case is unique, as such, each patient’s total cost of care will vary.” | Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana)read 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Tijuana and Los Algodones sit on the US border, and the clinics here quote in US dollars. Hospital MAC's list is a general public price list valid to 31 December 2026; the dental and eye clinics do not date their pages.
Against waiting or paying in the US
The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.
Paying privately in the US: $4,990–$5,790, from LasikPlus. These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.
Can your insurer pay?
Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.
Planning the trip from the US
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
- Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
- LanguageSpanish; border clinics that serve US patients usually work in English.
- After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your real fare from the US and your hotel to see the total for Mexico next to every other country.
Related pages
Laser eye surgery in Mexico from the US: questions
How much is laser eye surgery in Mexico for Americans?
The published prices we found work out at $2,100–$3,000 at the clinic, from Retina Center Tijuana and Vision Mendez Institute. With an example return flight of $300 and 3 hotel nights at $110, the trip comes to about $2,730. Your own fares and dates will change the total.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?
Yes, by about $2,260 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $4,990. The gap shrinks if your flight costs more or you need extra nights.
How long is the wait for laser eye surgery in the US?
There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.
How many days do I need in Mexico?
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my insurer pay for it?
Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.
Sources
- Tijuana eye care prices 2026. Retina Center Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
- Prices. Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cost of LASIK. LasikPlus. Read 26 October 2026.
- Lista de precios público general, Hospital MAC Tijuana (valid 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2026). Hospitales MAC, 1 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.