New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

Laser eye surgery · Mexico

Laser eye surgery in Mexico: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

We found 2 published prices for laser eye surgery in Mexico, from $2,100 to $3,000, or about £1,570 to £2,240 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £2,590 to £7,500 at the providers we checked.

Published price
$2,100 to $3,000about £1,570 to £2,240 · about €1,880 to €2,680 · about C$2,940 to C$4,200 · about $2,100 to $3,000
Price is for
both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
Where
Tijuana
Providers
2 (Retina Center Tijuana and Vision Mendez Institute)
Time there
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
NHS England wait
No NHS figure for this

Published laser eye surgery prices in Mexico

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

Laser eye surgery prices in Mexico
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Retina Center TijuanaTijuana$2,100 to $3,000about £1,570–£2,240 · €1,880–€2,680 · C$2,940–C$4,200LASIK and refractive surgery, both eyes ($2,100); SMILE laser surgery, both eyes ($3,000)Not stated. The page says coordinators give “a personalized estimate before your appointment”.Retina Center Tijuanaread 26 October 2026
Vision Mendez InstituteTijuana$2,790about £2,090 · €2,490 · C$3,900LASIK, PRK or Relex SMILE, $1,395 per eye (our ×2 for both eyes)Not stated. “Every case is unique, as such, each patient’s total cost of care will vary.”Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana)read 26 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Tijuana and Los Algodones sit on the US border, and the clinics here quote in US dollars. Hospital MAC's list is a general public price list valid to 31 December 2026; the dental and eye clinics do not date their pages.

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Mexico price converted to that currency. The Mexico figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for laser eye surgery
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UKNo official figure found£2,590 to £7,500£1,570 to £2,240before flights and hotel
CanadaNo official figure foundC$980 to C$6,180C$2,940 to C$4,200before flights and hotel
IrelandNo official figure found€2,990 to €4,200€1,880 to €2,680before flights and hotel
USNo national figure$4,990 to $5,7902021 hospital data or a dental school$2,100 to $3,000before flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Add your flight and hotel

Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Mexico next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
  3. Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
  4. Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
  5. LanguageSpanish; border clinics that serve US patients usually work in English.
  6. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  7. After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
  8. After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.

Can your public system pay for it?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Mexico. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Mexico is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

When not to travel for laser eye surgery

  • A prescription that is still changing. Clinics usually want it stable before they operate.
  • Dry eyes, thin corneas or an eye disease such as keratoconus, until the clinic has measured and assessed you.
  • Anyone who cannot stay for the next-day check, or who needs to fly or drive straight after surgery.

How to compare laser eye surgery quotes

Laser eye surgery reshapes the clear front surface of the eye (the cornea) to correct short sight, long sight or astigmatism, so you depend less on glasses or contact lenses. LASIK and SMILE work under a thin flap or through a small cut; PRK and LASEK treat the surface, which takes longer to heal. The NHS does not usually offer it, so at home it is a private purchase. Not everyone is suitable: the clinic measures your eyes first, and some clinics charge for that visit.

  • Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price.
  • Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
  • Ask whether the suitability tests are free, charged, or deducted from the operation price.
  • Ask what aftercare is included, for how long, and whether a second treatment (enhancement) is covered if your sight is not fully corrected.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

Laser eye surgery in Mexico: questions

How much does laser eye surgery cost in Mexico?

The published prices we found range from $2,100 to $3,000, about £1,570 to £2,240 or $2,100 to $3,000. They come from Retina Center Tijuana and Vision Mendez Institute. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.

Is laser eye surgery in Mexico cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

Before travel, the prices here work out at about £1,570 to £2,240, against about £2,590 to £7,500 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 3 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for laser eye surgery in Mexico?

No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Mexico is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.

How many days should I plan in Mexico?

3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking laser eye surgery in Mexico?

Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price. Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.

Sources

  1. Tijuana eye care prices 2026. Retina Center Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Prices. Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana). Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Lista de precios público general, Hospital MAC Tijuana (valid 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2026). Hospitales MAC, 1 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.