From Canada · Laser eye surgery · Mexico
Laser eye surgery in Mexico from Canada: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Canadians, laser eye surgery in Mexico costs C$2,940–C$4,200 at the clinics we checked, or about C$3,960 once an example return flight and 3 hotel nights are added. That is about C$2,980 more than the lowest self-pay price we found in Canada (C$980).
- Clinic price
- C$2,940–C$4,2002 providers, both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
- Example trip
- C$3,960clinic C$2,940 + flight C$600 + 3 hotel nights C$420
- Pay privately in Canada
- C$980–C$6,180
- Wait in Canada
- No official figure found
- Time there
- 3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
- Rank from Canada
- 4 of 5 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD
Trip total C$3,960C$2,980 over home
Figure 2Laser eye surgery: cheapest trip from Canada, by country
Published laser eye surgery prices in Mexico
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retina Center TijuanaTijuana | $2,100 to $3,000about £1,570–£2,240 · €1,880–€2,680 · C$2,940–C$4,200 | LASIK and refractive surgery, both eyes ($2,100); SMILE laser surgery, both eyes ($3,000)Not stated. The page says coordinators give “a personalized estimate before your appointment”. | Retina Center Tijuanaread 26 October 2026 |
| Vision Mendez InstituteTijuana | $2,790about £2,090 · €2,490 · C$3,900 | LASIK, PRK or Relex SMILE, $1,395 per eye (our ×2 for both eyes)Not stated. “Every case is unique, as such, each patient’s total cost of care will vary.” | Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana)read 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Tijuana and Los Algodones sit on the US border, and the clinics here quote in US dollars. Hospital MAC's list is a general public price list valid to 31 December 2026; the dental and eye clinics do not date their pages.
Against waiting or paying in Canada
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for laser eye surgery in Canada.
Paying privately in Canada: C$980–C$6,180, from LASIK MD.
Can your provincial plan pay?
Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.
Planning the trip from Canada
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
- Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
- LanguageSpanish; border clinics that serve US patients usually work in English.
- After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your real fare from Canada and your hotel to see the total for Mexico next to every other country.
Related pages
Laser eye surgery in Mexico from Canada: questions
How much is laser eye surgery in Mexico for Canadians?
The published prices we found work out at C$2,940–C$4,200 at the clinic, from Retina Center Tijuana and Vision Mendez Institute. With an example return flight of C$600 and 3 hotel nights at C$140, the trip comes to about C$3,960. Your own fares and dates will change the total.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?
No, not on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is C$980, about C$2,980 less than the cheapest trip. It can make sense if you are already travelling to Mexico.
How long is the wait for laser eye surgery in Canada?
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Canada.
How many days do I need in Mexico?
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my provincial plan pay for it?
Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.
Sources
- Tijuana eye care prices 2026. Retina Center Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
- Prices. Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana). Read 26 October 2026.
- Pricing. LASIK MD. Read 26 October 2026.
- Lista de precios público general, Hospital MAC Tijuana (valid 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2026). Hospitales MAC, 1 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.