New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

Cataract surgery · Mexico

Cataract surgery in Mexico: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

We found 2 published prices for cataract surgery in Mexico, from $2,350 to $2,500, or about £1,760 to £1,870 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £2,000 to £3,610 at the providers we checked.

Published price
$2,350 to $2,500about £1,760 to £1,870 · about €2,100 to €2,230 · about C$3,290 to C$3,500 · about $2,350 to $2,500
Price is for
one eye, standard (monofocal) lens, unless the row says otherwise
Where
Tijuana
Providers
2 (Vision Mendez Institute and Retina Center Tijuana)
Time there
3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly
NHS England wait
72.2% within 18 weeks (all eye care) (August 2026)

Published cataract surgery prices in Mexico

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

Cataract surgery prices in Mexico
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Vision Mendez InstituteTijuana$2,350about £1,760 · €2,100 · C$3,290Cataract surgery with a monofocal lens, per eyeThe price page does not say what is included (assessment, follow-up visits). Multifocal lens: $3,650 per eye.Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana)read 26 October 2026
Retina Center TijuanaTijuana$2,500about £1,870 · €2,230 · C$3,500Cataract surgery with a monofocal lens, per eyeToric lens $3,000, premium trifocal $4,000. The page says each estimate is personalised; inclusions not stated. Page titled “Tijuana Eye Care Prices 2026”.Retina Center Tijuanaread 26 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Tijuana and Los Algodones sit on the US border, and the clinics here quote in US dollars. Hospital MAC's list is a general public price list valid to 31 December 2026; the dental and eye clinics do not date their pages.

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Mexico price converted to that currency. The Mexico figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for cataract surgery
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UK72.2% within 18 weeks (all eye care)England, August 2026£2,000 to £3,610£1,760 to £1,870before flights and hotel
CanadaMedian 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 daysCanada (national), 2025Not verifiedC$3,290 to C$3,500before flights and hotel
IrelandAbout 42% waiting over 6 months (all eye surgery)Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026€3,200€2,100 to €2,230before flights and hotel
USNo national figure$3,6802021 hospital data or a dental school$2,350 to $2,500before flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Add your flight and hotel

Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Mexico next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
  3. Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
  4. LanguageSpanish; border clinics that serve US patients usually work in English.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  6. After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
  7. After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.

Can your public system pay for it?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Mexico. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Mexico is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

When not to travel for cataract surgery

  • Other eye disease that needs regular follow-up (glaucoma, diabetic eye disease, macular degeneration) unless your home specialist agrees.
  • Anyone who cannot stay a few days after surgery or cannot use eye drops reliably on their own.

How to compare cataract surgery quotes

Cataract surgery replaces the cloudy natural lens of the eye with a plastic lens implant. It is usually done under local anaesthetic in 15 to 30 minutes, one eye at a time. Prices depend heavily on the lens: a standard monofocal lens costs far less than a multifocal or toric (astigmatism) lens.

  • Check the lens type in the price. Premium lenses can double the cost.
  • Ask whether the pre-operative measurements, the eye drops and the next-day check are included.
  • Ask who you contact if something goes wrong after you have flown home.
  • Both eyes are usually done on different days. Check whether the price is per eye.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

Cataract surgery in Mexico: questions

How much does cataract surgery cost in Mexico?

The published prices we found range from $2,350 to $2,500, about £1,760 to £1,870 or $2,350 to $2,500. They come from Vision Mendez Institute and Retina Center Tijuana. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.

Is cataract surgery in Mexico cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

Before travel, the prices here work out at about £1,760 to £1,870, against about £2,000 to £3,610 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 4 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for cataract surgery in Mexico?

No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Mexico is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.

How many days should I plan in Mexico?

3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking cataract surgery in Mexico?

Check the lens type in the price. Premium lenses can double the cost. Ask whether the pre-operative measurements, the eye drops and the next-day check are included.

Sources

  1. Prices. Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana). Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Tijuana eye care prices 2026. Retina Center Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Lista de precios público general, Hospital MAC Tijuana (valid 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2026). Hospitales MAC, 1 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.