Hip replacement · Poland
Hip replacement in Poland: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
We found 5 published prices for a hip replacement in Poland, from 25,000 PLN to 32,500 PLN, or about £4,760 to £6,190 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £16,580 at the providers we checked.
- Published price
- 25,000 PLN to 32,500 PLNabout £4,760 to £6,190 · about €5,690 to €7,400 · about C$8,910 to C$11,590 · about $6,370 to $8,280
- Price is for
- one primary total hip replacement on one side, with the implant and hospital stay. Fees that leave out the implant or the stay are shown but not compared
- Where
- Opole, Jelenia Góra, Poznań and Konstancin-Jeziorna
- Providers
- 5 (KORT Klinika, Klinika Silesia, KCM Clinic, Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne) and Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”, a regional-government company))
- Time there
- About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then time near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule
- NHS England wait
- 61.1% within 18 weeks (all orthopaedics) (August 2026)
Published hip replacement prices in Poland
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| KORT KlinikaOpole | 25,000 PLN to 30,000 PLNabout £4,760–£5,720 · €5,690–€6,830 · C$8,910–C$10,690 · $6,370–$7,640 | Hip replacement: surgery 22,000 PLN plus the implant chosen (cemented +3,000 to full-ceramic uncemented +8,000)All operations include pre-operative tests if required, the operation, the implant and the hospital stay with nursing care; this line says “operation, up to 3 days’ stay, rehabilitation in hospital”. Totals by implant: cemented 25,000; uncemented metal-on-polyethylene 27,000; ceramic-on-polyethylene 29,000; full ceramic 30,000. Anaesthetist consultation 300 PLN extra. | KORT Klinika (Opole)read 26 October 2026 |
| Klinika SilesiaOpole | 28,000 PLNabout £5,330 · €6,370 · C$9,980 · $7,130 | Hip replacementThe procedure plus the hospital stay and hospital care. Implant not named. The clinic adds that the price depends on the type of operation and the medical materials used. | Klinika Silesia (Opole)read 26 October 2026 |
| KCM ClinicJelenia Góra | 26,500 PLN to 32,500 PLNabout £5,050–£6,190 · €6,030–€7,400 · C$9,450–C$11,590 · $6,750–$8,280 | PAKIET OP hip replacement, by implant (cemented Enovis Lima or Zimmer 26,500 to Lima Modular Dual Mobility 32,500)Named implant, anaesthesia, 3 days in hospital and rehabilitation for up to 7 days. Uncemented package 28,500. Surgery and implant without the package: 22,500 to 28,500. The clinic says prices may be updated and are confirmed before booking. | KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra)read 26 October 2026 |
| Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne)Poznań | From 26,500 PLNabout £5,050 · €6,030 · C$9,450 · $6,750 | Hip replacement, 4-day stayPrice “from”, with a 4-day stay. Anaesthetist consultation 365 PLN extra; each extra hospital day 1,400 PLN. Implant not stated. | Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań)read 26 October 2026 |
| Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”, a regional-government company)Konstancin-Jeziorna | 8,000 PLN to 10,000 PLNabout £1,520–£1,910 · €1,820–€2,280 · C$2,850–C$3,560 · $2,040–$2,550 | Primary total hip replacement: cemented (8,000) or uncemented (10,000), procedure fee onlyProcedure fee only. The implant, prosthesis, fixation and drugs are charged on top “at prices from tendered contracts” (amount not stated), as are anaesthesia and nursing (750 to 1,000 PLN) and the room (200 to 400 PLN a day). Not comparable with an all-in price.Not comparable | Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl)read 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Poznań's MSWiA hospital is a public hospital that also sells services to paying patients; its list is dated 1 January 2026. Private clinics in Warsaw publish similar or higher prices. Polish eye clinics charge a separate qualification visit before cataract surgery.
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Poland price converted to that currency. The Poland figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | 61.1% within 18 weeks (all orthopaedics)England, August 2026 | £16,580 | £4,760 to £6,190before flights and hotel |
| Canada | Median 120 days; 1 in 10 waited over 321 daysCanada (national), 2025 | Not verified | C$8,910 to C$11,590before flights and hotel |
| Ireland | About 35% waiting over 6 months (all orthopaedic surgery)Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026 | Not verified | €5,690 to €7,400before flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $29,1002021 hospital data or a dental school | $6,370 to $8,280before flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Poland next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the hip replacement and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goSend recent X-rays and a list of your medicines, and ask for a written, itemised quote with the implant named.
- Before you goPlan help at home and the exercises for the weeks after you return.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned surgery abroad and a delayed flight home. Most standard policies do not.
- LanguagePolish; private clinics in big cities often have English-speaking staff, public hospitals less often.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnGive your GP the operation note with the implant details, and ask who will check your wound and do your follow-up X-ray.
- After you returnA hot, swollen calf, chest pain or breathlessness after the flight need emergency care straight away.
Can your public system pay for it?
From England (NHS): the S2 route can fund planned treatment in an EU country, but only state healthcare with a public provider, never private treatment, and only with approval before you go. NHS England must also confirm it cannot treat you in a medically acceptable time. The private clinics on this page do not qualify. NHS: the S2 funding route.
From Ireland (HSE): Poland is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.
When not to travel for a hip replacement
- Anyone whose home surgeon has not confirmed that a hip replacement is the right operation.
- Serious heart or lung disease, or a recent blood clot, unless the hospital’s anaesthetist has reviewed you in advance.
- Travelling alone with nobody to help you for the first weeks after surgery.
How to compare hip replacement quotes
A total hip replacement replaces the worn ball and socket of the hip joint with an artificial joint (prosthesis), usually for arthritis pain that has not responded to other treatment. It is major surgery under a general or spinal anaesthetic, followed by weeks of exercises. Prices abroad differ mostly by what is in the package: the implant, the number of nights in hospital and physiotherapy.
- Check that the price includes the implant. Some hospitals quote the surgeon’s fee only and charge the prosthesis on top.
- Ask for the implant make and model in writing, and how many nights in hospital are included.
- Ask what physiotherapy is included and what happens if you need extra nights.
- Ask when the surgeon will let you fly home, and about blood-clot prevention for the flight.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- KORT Klinika, Opole: 25,000 PLN to 30,000 PLN
- Klinika Silesia, Opole: 28,000 PLN
- KCM Clinic, Jelenia Góra: 26,500 PLN to 32,500 PLN
- Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne), Poznań: From 26,500 PLN
- Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”, a regional-government company), Konstancin-Jeziorna: 8,000 PLN to 10,000 PLN
Related comparisons
- Hip replacement abroad: all 5 countries compared
- Hip replacement in Mexico
- Hip replacement in Turkey
- Hip replacement in Hungary
- Hip replacement in Thailand
- MRI scan in Poland
- Colonoscopy in Poland
- Health check-up in Poland
- Cataract surgery in Poland
- Laser eye surgery in Poland
- Dental implant in Poland
- Veneers in Poland
- Hair transplant in Poland
- Knee replacement in Poland
- IVF in Poland
- Treatment in Poland: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Hip replacement in Poland: questions
How much does a hip replacement cost in Poland?
The published prices we found range from 25,000 PLN to 32,500 PLN, about £4,760 to £6,190 or $6,370 to $8,280. They come from KORT Klinika, Klinika Silesia, KCM Clinic, Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne) and Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”, a regional-government company). Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.
Is a hip replacement in Poland cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
Before travel, the prices here work out at about £4,760 to £6,190, against about £16,580 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 10 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for a hip replacement in Poland?
The NHS S2 route pays only for state treatment at a public provider in the EU, with approval before you travel, not for private clinics. From Ireland, the HSE Cross Border Directive scheme lets you claim back up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid.
How many days should I plan in Poland?
About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then time near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking a hip replacement in Poland?
Check that the price includes the implant. Some hospitals quote the surgeon’s fee only and charge the prosthesis on top. Ask for the implant make and model in writing, and how many nights in hospital are included.
Sources
- Cennik: zabiegi ortopedyczne. KORT Klinika (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
- Endoproteza biodra: gdzie zrobić? Cennik. Klinika Silesia (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik: ortopedia. KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik: ortopedia, staw biodrowy. Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik Szpitala im. prof. M. Weissa: operacje ortopedyczne. Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl). Read 26 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik usług medycznych obowiązujący od 1.01.2026 (price list valid from 1 January 2026). Szpital MSWiA w Poznaniu (Ministry of Interior hospital, Poznań), 1 January 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.